Cajun Chicken Pasta

** I got this recipe here. I have made this once and as always I will put all my changes in the Cook’s Notes at the bottom of this recipe. This is really good and you can add more Cajun seasonings to fit your taste **

Ingredients:

3 boneless, skinless chicken breasts, cut into bite sized pieces

16 ounces of bow tie pasta

3 tsp. Cajun seasoning

1/4 cup flour

1 red bell pepper, diced

1 small yellow onion or white, diced

1/2 cup tomatoes, chopped

1 cup whole milk, heavy cream, or half and half

4 TBS butter

3 cloves garlic (optional)

Directions:

Prepare pasta according to directions

Cut uncooked chicken into bite sized pieces. Sprinkle one teaspoon Cajun seasoning over chicken, add salt and pepper.

Spray a large pan or skillet with non stick spray and cook chicken, stirring constantly for 8-10 minutes. Remove chicken from pan and set aside.

In the same pan, melt butter, add peppers, onions, and garlic to melted butter and cook for two minutes.

Add flour to pan and stir until flour and vegetables clump together

Slowly add milk to pan stirring until sauce until smooth and creamy.

Stir in 2 teaspoons of Cajun seasoning until well combined. Mix in pasta and chicken until coated and the chicken is warmed through.

Garnish with scallions and Parmesan cheese if desired

 

Cook’s Notes: First of all I did not use any onion or peppers. I am allergic to onions and do not like the peppers. For the chopped tomatoes I used a can of diced tomatoes to make my life easier. I did have trouble with the proportions for the sauce. I used the same amount of butter and flour but I ended up using 2 cups of heavy cream and at least one cup of whole milk, bringing the total to 3 cups of liquid and not the 1 cup stated in the recipe. I came out good anyway and the sauce was thick. I also misread the recipe on the first read through, I thought it said 3 TABLESPOONS of Cajun seasoning not 3 TEASPOONS. I thought that seemed a bit much and read through it again before adding anything, so be careful when reading recipes and if something seems like too much or too little you might be looking at it wrong or there might be a mistake in the recipe. In the end, I did not add the tomatoes, mainly because the recipe does not state when to add them.. So I left them out. I would assume that you add them with the onions, peppers, and garlic

3 thoughts on “Cajun Chicken Pasta

  1. I’ve been wondering what to cook with the cajun seasoning i’ve had left in my cupboard! thankyou for this beast of a recipe!

What you are cookin'

