Chicken Parmesan Casserole

** I got this recipe here and it is amazing! If you love chicken Parmesan, you will LOVE this recipe! I was not sure about some of the ingredients because, it seemed strange to me, but it totally works! I made this last night and my family gobbled it up! Almost none left! **

Ingredients:

1 (28 ounce) jar of marinara sauce

3 cups cooked chicken, cubed

2 1/2 cups garlic croutons, semi crushed

1 1/2 cups mozzarella cheese

1/2 cup Parmesan cheese

1/3 cup fresh basil, finely chopped

1 tsp. garlic powder

1/4 tsp. red pepper flakes or to taste

kosher salt and fresh ground black pepper to taste

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees and lightly grease a 9×13 baking dish with non stick spray.

Evenly spread out garlic croutons in the baking dish, then cover with cubed chicken.

Season chicken with garlic powder, red pepper flakes, salt and pepper, and sprinkle chopped basil over the top

Place baking dish in oven and bake for 20-25 minutes, or until cheese is melted and bubbly.

Remove from oven and let cool for 5 minutes before serving

Cook’s Notes: I did not use the 1/3 cup fresh basil, instead I used 1 1/2 tsp. dried basil and that was enough. I also did not have cooked chicken on hand, so I cubed up some chicken breasts and cooked them before making this casserole. I just threw them in my cast iron pan and cooked the chicken in melted butter really quick. You can also use any kind of left over chicken you have on hand which would make this dish even quicker! I mixed all the seasonings together and sprinkled on the chicken at once and that was really good, so you are not getting a mouth full of salt or basil, it was all mixed.

What you are cookin'

