Paula Deen’s Goulash

***I am not sure where I found this recipe but I made it last night and it was good! I will admit that I usually have some issues with Paula’s recipes, either a measurement is not right or there is a direction left out, so I will tell you what I changed or did in the cook’s notes at the bottom of the recipe.***

Ingredients:

2 lbs lean ground beef

2 medium yellow onions, chopped

3 cloves garlic chopped

3 cups water

2 (15 oz) cans tomato sauce

2 (15 oz) cans diced tomatoes

2 tablespoons Italian seasoning

3 bay leaves

3 TBS soy sauce

1 TBS Paula Deen’s House Seasoning

1 TBS salt

2 cups elbow macaroni. uncooked

Directions:

In large pot, cook ground beef over medium heat until browned, spoon off any extra grease.

Add onion and garlic, sauté until transparent.

Add 3 cups of water, tomato sauce, diced tomatoes, all seasonings, soy sauce, and bay leaves (if you choose to use them). Allow to simmer for 15-20 minutes.

Add macaroni and allow to simmer an additional 20 minutes or until tender. Remove bay leaves before serving.

 

***Cook’s Notes: First of all, I did not use the onion because I am allergic to it. Secondly, I did not use her house seasoning, that is way too salty for me, but I did add 3 large pinches of my own season salt instead. With all the liquid in the recipe, you will need to let it simmer until some of the liquid cooks out unless you like your goulash soupy. I did eat it like that last night and it was not bad, it was like a hamburger soup, but I left it on the heat, at medium low for about 10-15 minutes while we were eating and the liquid cooked out and it was more like goulash. There is not a step for this in the recipe that I have, so I changed it. I use the season salt recipe that you can find here. It is the best one I have found personally.**

What you are cookin'

