Picnic Oven Fried Chicken

 

oven-fried-chicken

Oven Fried Chicken

 

**This is not my recipe.. I got it from Deep South Dish. It is the most amazing oven fried chicken recipe that I have ever tried!!**

 

Ingredients:

3 TBS of butter

1 cup of all purpose flour

1 tsp. garlic powder

1 tsp. seasoned salt (like Lawry’s)

1 tsp. of Cajun seasoning (like Slap Ya Mama), or to taste

1 tsp. of dried thyme

1 TBS dried parsley

1 (3 to 4 pounds) who chicken, cut into serving pieces or equivalent pieces

Instructions:

Preheat the oven to 425 degrees F.

Add butter to a 9×13 inch glass baking pan and place in oven just long enough to melt the butter

Meanwhile, whisk together the flour and the seasonings. Rinse the chicken pieces and dredge in the seasoned flour.

Place in the baking pan, skin side up, and turn to coat.

Bake chicken skin side down at 425 degrees for 35 minutes, turn and bake skin side up for 20- 25 minutes or until juices run clear.

Total baking time will depend on size of the pieces that you use, but the internal temperature should reach about 175 degrees in the thickest part of the thigh and 165 degrees in the breast. Transfer to a rack to cool completely before storing. Wrap loosely in a clean sack cloth towel or paper towels then place into large storage bag or container, refrigerate if not using right away.

 

Cook’s Notes: I totally love this recipe, when I make it, I use all legs because we love dark meat here.. I did not have any Cajun seasoning, so I used chipotle seasoning instead and it is still yummy. I did find that after the chicken cooked I needed to add some salt while it was still hot. It is still amazing the next day for lunch too!!! The time is right on as well, I have made this several times and never had to cook longer than 55 minutes total.

A YEAR LATER: I still make this at least once a week for the family. I have found if you take it out of the pan and drain it on some papertowels for about 10-15 minutes it is a lot better! I also use real butter, but I tend to use more than 3 TBS. I place all my flour and seasonings in a zip top bag and shake and it is less mess!! We still love this recipe and it is a great alternative to frying chicken.

What you are cookin'

