Oh-So-Easy London Broil

*** This is not my own recipe I got it from Living Well Spending Less, when I made this the other night it was my first time cooking London Broil and oh man, it came out so perfect!! ***

Ingredients:

2 pounds London Broil or flank steak

seasoned salt

pepper

1/2 large sweet onion

2 cloves of garlic

3/4 cup red wine

1/3 cup ketchup

1/4 cup soy sauce

2 TBS Worcestershire Sauce

3 TBS brown sugar

1/2 tsp. dried thyme

Directions:

Sprinkle beef with salt and pepper and rub into meat

Poke holes in meat with sharp fork to allow marinade to sink in. You can also use a tenderizer if you have it

Chop onion and garlic

Whisk together onion, garlic, red wine, ketchup, soy sauce, Worcestershire sauce, brown sugar and thyme until well blended

Thaw meat (if frozen) Turn on broiler with broiler pan inside. Preheat pan for 10 minutes. Place meat on broiler pan and return to oven on top rack, about 4” from heat. Depending on the thickness of your meat, broil approximately 5-6 minutes per side, watching closely. Err on the side of undercooked because you can always put it back in for a minute or so more

Let cooked meat rest for 8 minutes, then cut into thin slices with a sharp knife.

Cook’s Notes: I did not use the marinade in this recipe. I used one from Paula Deen that I love. The timing on this is perfect for medium-rare.. I did 6 minutes per side and it was perfect for me. M likes his a bit more done than I do, so I did about 7-8 minutes per side for his. It must have been good, he ate the whole piece of meat the first night!! I will use this cooking method when I do London Broil from here on out, it is simple and easy. I did marinate my meat all day in the fridge and I took it out to come to room temperature about 30 minutes before I cooked it. The important part of this recipe is to preheat your pan!!

What you are cookin'

