Crock Pot Smoked Sausage, Green Beans & Potatoes

** I am not exactly sure where I found this recipe but I made it yesterday for dinner because Army Boy had Drill for National Guard. It was very good and easy. See my changes at the bottom of the recipe.**

Ingredients:

1 LB Kielbasa or Smoked sausage

4 medium potatoes, peeled and cubed

1/2 medium onion, sliced

2 (14.5 ounces) cans green beans drained

1/2 tsp black pepper

salt to taste

Directions:

Combine all ingredients EXCEPT smoked sausage and place in crock pot

Add water to barely cover ingredients, can also use chicken broth for more flavor.

Cover. Cook on low for 4-6 hours or until potatoes are done

One hour before ready to serve cut smoked sausage into bite sized pieces and add to top. DO NOT stir.

Mix before serving and serve with a slotted spoon so that the water can drain away or drain the whole batch.

 

*** TIPS: I omitted the onion because I am allergic. I also used 5 potatoes instead of 4 and did not peel them. I also used 2 pounds of sausage, one of each kind called for. I used 2 packages of frozen green beans. It was very yummy. ***

 

****UPDATE****: I am making this today (8/16/14) with fresh green beans and you could use canned if that is all you have. If using canned or frozen add about 30 minutes before done when you add the sausage. If using fresh, I put them in with the potatoes at the beginning because it usually takes them a bit to cook through, especially in a crock pot. Enjoy! 

What you are cookin'

